McCain gives half-baked spurious speech while getting dubious award

McCain gets Liberty Medal from National Constitution Center

  • Decries “half-baked spurious nationalism”  — another swipe at Trump and his deplorable supporters
  • McCain’s record one of fully cooked globaloney
  • Incredible as it sounds, “Constitution” organization is chaired by Joe Biden
  • Jimmy Carter and Hillary Clinton recipients, not Ronald Reagan
  • National Constitution Center should have its charter revoked

John McCain, who has lied in the way of repeal of the constitutional obomanation of Obamacare, who has suggested Trump is somehow dangerous with allegations of bellicosity while by his own predilections frequently calls for the U.S. military to get involved in problem areas around the world —  gets an award from an organization supposedly dedicated to the Constitution, and at the hands of the likes of Joe Biden.

Others will further and ably critique the authenticity of McCain’s devotion to the Constitution. But as regards receiving the award at the hands of Joe Biden, he should have talked to his daughter.

And who can forget the scholarship background of the Chair of the National Constitution Center:

Joe Biden’s devotion to the Constitution and individual freedom includes ( via a 2013 post by Ed Morrissey writing at Hotair) :

. . . Vice President Joe Biden insisted that people who question this administration on gun policy — like Kate Ernest did just prior to this appearance — aren’t really speaking for themselves, but for “opponents” of gun control and the Obama administration. “No law-abiding citizen in the United States of America,” Biden thunders, “has any fear that their constitutional rights will be infringed in any way. None. Zero.”

Well, that’s an easy conclusion to reach as soon as you assume that the Kate Ernests are figments of your imagination

Biden’s grasp of even the structure of the Constitution has been problematic, as VP Dick Cheney pointed out“He also said that all the powers and responsibilities of the executive branch are laid out in Article I of the Constitution,” Cheney said in a interview that was conducted on Friday. “Well, they’re not. Article I of the Constitution is the one on the legislative branch.”

Besides McCain, here are the other likes of the National Constitution Center   

What is the Liberty Medal?

The Liberty Medal is awarded annually by the National Constitution Center to men and women of courage and conviction who have strived to secure the blessings of liberty to people the world over. The Medal’s roster of recipients includes many of the men, women, and organizations that have shaped and guided the world through the past two decades, including Nelson Mandela, Sandra Day O’Connor, Kofi Annan, Shimon Peres, and Colin Powell.

Established in 1988 to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution, the Liberty Medal is awarded annually to men and women of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe. The medal was first administered by the National Constitution Center in 2006, when Presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton were honored for their bipartisan humanitarian efforts on behalf of the victims of the tsunami in Southeast Asia and the hurricanes on the Gulf Coast. Other past Liberty Medal recipients include Nelson Mandela, Shimon Peres, Kofi Annan, Sandra Day O’Connor, and Bono. Seven recipients of the medal have subsequently won the Nobel Peace Prize.

• 2017 – Senator John McCain
• 2016 – John Lewis
• 2015 – His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet
• 2014 – Malala Yousafzai
• 2013 – Hillary Rodham Clinton, Former Secretary of State
• 2012 – Muhammad Ali: Champion of Freedom
• 2011 – Robert Gates
• 2010 – Tony Blair
• 2009 – Steven Spielberg
• 2008 – Mikhail Gorbachev
• 2007 – Bono & DATA
• 2006 – George H.W. Bush and William J. Clinton
• 2005 – Viktor Yushchenko
• 2004 – Hamid Karzai
• 2003 – Sandra Day O’Connor
• 2002 – Colin Powell
• 2001 – Kofi Annan
• 2000 – Dr. James D. Watson & Dr. Francis Crick
• 1999 – Kim Dae-jung
• 1998 – George Mitchell
• 1997 – CNN International
• 1996 – King Hussein & Shimon Peres
• 1995 – Sadako Ogata
• 1994 – Vaclav Havel
• 1993 – Nelson Mandela & F. W. de Klerk
• 1992 – Thurgood Marshall
• 1991 – Médecins Sans Frontières & Oscar Arias Sanchez
• 1990 – Jimmy Carter
• 1989 – Lech Walesa

A few in the list are deserving of recognition for devotion to constitutional freedoms, others not so much.  What a Washington establishment organization it is. Consider its standards:

Sandra Day O’Connor, at the time of the award by the way was a sitting Supreme Court Justice, there were no other possibilities?

CNN International (Ted Turner representing)?

Bill Clinton, and tyrant enabler Kofi Annan?

Jimmy Carter and Mikhail Gorbachev but not Ronald Reagan!

We presume Reagan said no thanks.

R Mall

This entry was posted in UNCATEGORIZED. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *